Training Philosophy of Rannoch Donald

I was browsing the Conditioning Research Blog, a fanstastic, well-written site on fitness, health and performance, and I ran across a fascinating interview (in the kettlebell category) that Chris did with Rannoch Donald on his philosophy of training.  I want you to read the article for yourself, because he sets forth a really no-nonsense approach to maintaining a lifestyle that includes fitness, but here are some interesting thoughts:

“Without mobility there is no strength, no power, no health.  You stop being the hunter and you become the prey.”  This is all about being fit to fight, and fit to win in life!

Rannoch talks about “mindful fitness” and including a spiritual aspect.  I love this–so many people tend to be out in space during their training, and I think that being present in your mind, and in your body is so important–don’t just go through the motions.

He quotes Joseph Campbell, one of my favorite authors and thinkers of the 20th century: “People say what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life.  I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking.  I think what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive so that we can actually feel the rapture of being alive.  That’s what it’s all finally about.”

Rannoch also discusses his thoughts on martial arts versus self-defense, and the benefits of both–this is pretty much how I feel about both.

I encourage you to read the entire interview, which is refreshing in this age of quick-fixes, magic-bullet-seeking, and the urge to always find the shiny, sexy new thing.  I like this quote, too: “It’s not about the Kettlebell or any other tool for that matter. I know that what works for me might just work for you but the truth is you just need to get on with it.”  Amen to that!

http://conditioningresearch.blogspot.com/2009/02/interview-with-rannoch-donald-truth-is.html

2 Comments

  1. Thanks

    Rannoch is a great guy. On his site – http://simplestrength.com/ – he is currently posting daily workouts on the basis of 100 reps of something a day.

    He knows his combatives to

  2. Thanks very much for the kind words. I am lucky enough to be long enough in the tooth to have made enough mistakes to get things right, for me at least. And at the end of the day that is what we share, lessons learned.

    Slainte

    Rannoch


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

